Missouri Milk Board Declares They Have No Appeal

Morningland Dairy to go to Court

©Doreen Hannes
Those following the saga of Morningland Dairy should be aware that this past week has been a relentless roller coaster ride. On the upside of the roller coaster, many have donated to the Uncheese Party to help the family farmstead business in this battle, and Joe and Denise Dixon, owners of Morningland Dairy, are humbled and grateful for the generosity and dedication those committed to preserving access to real food have shown.

On the downside, the FDA sent a rather nasty toned letter asserting that they consider Morningland cheese “to pose an acute, life-threatening hazard to health.” While not a single report or complaint of illness has been reported in the 30 year history of Morningland, the FDA states in their letter that “because of the seriousness of this situation” Morningland “should conduct inspections for 100% effectiveness at their accounts”. You could accurately translate that to “more downtime, more money out of pocket, less likelihood of recovery,” and you’d be right. (Read more here at Harke Is Online!) [Link opens in a new window]

8 responses to “Missouri Milk Board Declares They Have No Appeal

  1. Excellent– a nice site too. You will enjoy blogging

  2. I’m surprised that the people at the FDA and Milk Board don’t have REALLY LOOOONG noses. They lie worse than Pinocchio!

    That’s okay, though, b/c it makes it clear to us what – make that WHOSE – language they’re speaking. We know who is the “father of all lies” so we’ve a leg up in knowing our enemy.

    Governor Nixon got another letter from me today. I didn’t hear back from him on the last one, so this time, I let him know that I sent out a hard copy, and oh, I cc’d a bunch of people, too.

    If anyone has any other ideas for action, I’m all ears – and eagerness. I’ll do whatever the Lord gives me to do. “Here I am! Send me! Send me!” (and He’ll send someone to chore for me, too. )

  3. I just cannot believe that our government thinks that they can actually behave like this. I do hope that American people do not stand for this. The government has played babysitter long enough. If they get away with this, we give up more freedom and hand them more power.

    It is a sad that we the American People are starting to think of our government as an us against them situation. The government is suppose to be of the people,by the people for the people. Not of,for and by big ag,big busines and big pharma and against the very people it is suppose to serve.

  4. I’m really new to the ways of political activism but I feel really strongly about this seeming nationwide persecution of small farmers by milk boards and folks who seem to not have to obey due process. I’m wondering, how can we get together as a group and invite a state legislator to talk to us? I am the secretary of Pride of the Ozarks Goat Breeders Club. Some of you are members and some of you may know of us. I’d like to get a senator or a representative to one of our meetings to hear what we have to say about being able to consume the food we want. But I think we’d need to have all of our facts lined up. We’d have to have some kind of a proposal in hand also. Not just a complaint but the beginnings of a solution to go with it. No shouted rhetoric or anger, but a decent and polite discourse on how we feel our rights are being violated and a beginning on how this can be redressed.
    Any thoughts?

  5. Can you send me the address of the FDA dept that wrote the letter about that? I’d like to write THEM a letter, thanking them for all the TOXINS they ‘allow’ in our foods, from neurotoxic MSG, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, to cancer causing food dyes that are derived from COAL TAR (a known carcinogen), to nasty non food garbage that is found in scads of our ‘food’ supply, like propylene glycol, BHA, BHT, etc etc etc.

Leave a Reply

